Fiction: You are what you…

The Bhagavad Gita says that food feeds the soul. The Upanishads suggest that good food opens the door to spiritual enlightenment. My priest once told me that there was a reason that Jesus turned water into wine. The idea persists that there is a connection between sustenance and the soul.

They assured us that there would be no side effects. Laboratory tested. Approved under the most rigorous of scientific testing. Nutritious and flavorful.

And they were right. There were no physical side effects. But what of the soul?

I watched my neighbours eat the meat. And everyone agreed that it tasted just like the real thing. Good food opens the door to spiritual enlightenment.

But what does bad food do?

I can feel the door opening. I can feel it in my mind.

H’orr’e naTsathoggua nnnR’lyeh, grah’n ooboshuyar Yoggoth geb mnahn’ f’ebunma

Some doors are best left closed.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

